Coughing Fits, Pity Parties, and Hot Facebook Friends

I’ve been having coughing fits like you wouldn’t believe (well, maybe you would; if you have had those before as well). And these blasted fits have led me to get a stiff neck which hurts like a betch. 😦 So this past week has been pretty miserable, like I eluded to in my last post. 

This morning they were really bad. I have been trying to stay away from coffee, but my husband poured me a cup and then here comes the coughing….way too much stimulation for my lungs and throat to handle! And it lasted several hours (coughing off and on). It was miserable.

So I had a few pity parties by myself today. I’m still in the middle of one right now, as a matter of fact. I just feel so frustrated, wishing the cough and neck pain would go away. 

But one thing that helps is a Facebook friend of mine always sends me positive vibes. He sends me compliments and uplifting stuff too. He always knows the right things to say. He calls me “awesome,” “rockstar,” and “wicked awesome.” Makes my day every single time. And yea, I guess I like him a little bit.

I met him through another Facebook friend about a year ago, and I didn’t realize we’d get this close. He likes to write and wants to become a published author, and admires my love for writing (which isn’t much; I do this blog and write a little on Hubpages). He also has a passion for fitness and running, similar to mine. So those are the excuses he uses to message me. 😉

I don’t know him that well or how genuine he is regarding the things he says, but I’m keeping a close watch on the boundary. So far so good; we’re both married, and so far he hasn’t crossed a boundary. I just don’t know how much of his compliments are genuine; only time will tell. For now, it is helping me get through this difficult time. And that’s all that matters.

I used to get so sad when a guy would smooth talk me for a while, and when he got bored, he would leave without any warning. But hopefully if and when that time comes, I’ll be ready for it.

My anxiety used to kick in when a guy stopped talking to me, and I would message him and ask what’s up. I don’t do that anymore 🙂 In fact, I don’t expect much from my guy friends. They all seem to have ADD when it comes to me.

Because of bad luck in the past, I just assume nobody likes me and I opt to do my own thing usually. I’m always a little surprised when someone acts like they want to hang out online or in person.

I can also tell when someone is fake. There was this chick on Twitter once who didn’t say anything to me for a long time when we became mutual followers. Then all of a sudden, she began with the “Hey there, good friend! I’m so happy to see you.” She began to DM me on Twitter, and gave me her phone number. I thought that was strange.

She wasn’t too creepy though lol so I became friends with her on Facebook as well. That’s when the trouble started. She started sending me IMs asking me how my day was, and asking me to do conference calls with her company, Shakeology. The conference calls were about a fitness something or other; you call this number, and there’s 10+ people also on the same line, and you can do a live Q&A. So bizarre-o!  She also tagged me with 20 other people I didn’t know, wanting me to do Insanity. Which I thought was insane (sorry, couldn’t resist that one lol).  Well, I don’t want to be tagged with 20 people I don’t know, and I’m not interested in Shakeology or long distance phone calls with 10 other people I don’t know as well. So I unfriended her. We’re still friends on Twitter, and she tries to get me into tweets with multiple other users, but I just ignore it. It’s clear I was just being used to promote her business, whatever that was. I told my husband Shakeology is probably just Slim Fast of the 21st century LOL!!!

So I’m a pretty good judge of character. There’s a lot of fake people in my life, and they treat me like dirt. I just ignore them, and opt not to give them my number, email, or any other personal information if I can help it.

But this guy on FB seems cool so far. It’s just that if he tries to go beyond a boundary, he might find out I don’t play that instrument lol 

Some girls be like “but he’s soooo hawt!” 

And I be like, Yeah but he’s soooo marrriieedddd lol

But I can’t lie, I have had my share of pitter-patter moments when he sends me messages, but I’m too old to fall into that trap. I think he’s hot, sure, but I also know I’m not stupid. Not perfect either, but definitely not stupid 😉

So OK, where do I go from here? There’s really no problem to solve tonight, just a reflection of this crappy week with the cold and discussing Mr. Hot. Hmmm,….

I made myself laugh, that’s a good thing. 

If I think of anything, I’ll write another post lol For now, I’m good.

Peace all….

 

 

Leave a comment